Montevideo by Night

11 April 2013

Thursday


Montevideo 5

After the remarkable blue skies and sunshine I’ve had so far in Uruguay I guess it was time for some less than perfect weather, and today in Montevideo it rained heavily much of the day. I spent the day alternately napping and writing, only really waking up as the sun was setting. Though it was still slightly misting, I went out for a walk in the neighborhood.

Montevideo 6

The humidity from the rain combined with the kind of warmth at night to which I am not accustomed meant that only after a short while I walking I became quite hot and was sweating. I returned to my room and showered and changed my clothes so I could set out on a longer walk in greater comfort.

Montevideo 7

My longer walk took four hours to complete, and left me tired and footsore, but with a lot of photographs of Montevideo by night, some of which I posted on Tumblr. By this time the rain had stopped and it became quite windy — which for me was a relief, since it cooled down the evening to a tolerable level.

Montevideo 8

Montevideo is like Venice, in so far as in both cities if you walk far enough in a straight line you will eventually come to water, yet, again like Venice, it is rather difficult to walk in a straight line. The grid of the city is crazily confusing, as the grids adapted to the geographical features of the city run into each other at irregular angles. Nevertheless, in my four hours of walking I never got lost.

Montevideo 9

I walked a straight line by way of a major through street (starting near my hotel where Bulevard España originates at the waterfront), taking this all the way through the city, and then when I emerged at the waterfront again, I took a very long walk along the waterfront promenade as it snakes between the city and the ocean. The walkway along the waterfront is as wide as the Avenue des Champs-Élysées. It was almost 1:00 am when I got back to my hotel. Many restaurants were still open, but the streets were quiet and the roads almost empty.

. . . . .

signature

. . . . .

Grand Strategy Annex

. . . . .

Leave a Reply

