Sweden!

19 August 2013

Monday


Detail of Sweden from the Carta Marina of 1539.

Detail of Sweden from the Carta Marina of 1539.

No sooner had I returned from the 2013 Icarus Interstellar Starship Congress in Dallas, Texas that I turned right around again, after one day at home to sleep in my own bed, and headed back out again. This time I’m going to Sweden. I would not ordinarily schedule anything as tight as this, but I didn’t want to miss the Starship Congress, and I had promised one of my sisters some time ago that I would meet her in Sweden in the second half of August.

I was home long enough to put through a load of laundry, run some business errands, and repack my bags in order to hit the road again. No doubt I will discover later all the things I forgot to pack in my haste.

It was one of those days in Portland that was so beautiful it felt a little sad to leave. On the flight out I was treated to a perfect view of my house from the air (as I live quite close to the Portland airport, and more-or-less directly under the flight path, as well as beautiful views of Mount Adams and Mount Rainier. So now it is off the Europe again.

. . . . .

Mount Adams, in Washington, not too far north of Portland.

Mount Adams, in Washington, not too far north of Portland.

. . . . .

signature

. . . . .

Grand Strategy Annex

. . . . .

Leave a Reply

