From Lillesand to Oslo

13 September 2009

Sunday


Goodbye to Oslo

Goodbye to Norway

One could scarcely ask for a greater departure gift than a fine last day, and the day dawned spectacularly clear and bright and sunny in Lillesand. It was a long day of driving and sightseeing, but I completed my touring of Norway where I began it: with a final evening visit to the Vigeland sculpture park.

Beautiful to the last, the day yielded a final luminous brilliance with a sunset to remember.

Beautiful to the last, the day yielded a final luminous brilliance with a sunset to remember.

I hadn’t intended to tie up my sightseeing so neatly, coming full circle from Frogner Park to Frogner Park by way of a detour to the west coast, but it is aesthetically satisfying that it worked out that way. And it was quiet again in Frogner Park, with only a few people walking around, like the first time I came here about a week ago. That is a fitting personal dénouement for my journey to Oslo, the Quiet City.

(photo credit: Laura Nielsen)

(photo credit: Laura Nielsen)

Frogner Park has not the drama of the paintings of Edvard Munch or the impact of the Viking ships at the Vikingskiphuset, but I think that it is becoming one of my favorite spots in Oslo, and, should I have the good fortune to return to Oslo, I will surely return here.

signature

. . . . .

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.